Congratulations to TAPPI’s new Directors: Michael Exner, (RockTenn), Steven J. Shifman (Michelman, Inc.) and E. Clayton Teague (National Nanotechnology Coordination Office – Retired) Elected to begin their three year terms in March 2012, they will join Norman F. Marsolan and Thomas J. Garland who continue to serve as TAPPI Chair, and TAPPI Vice Chair, respectively.

Exner is currently Senior Vice President and General Manager of Corrugated Packaging -Containerboard Mills at RockTenn Company in Norcross, Georgia, and has had a long and distinguished career in mill management, working with International Paper for more than 30 years. Shifman is the President and CEO of Michelman and having joined the company in 1992, has held multiple corporate positions there including sales management, business unit management and chief financial officer. Teague has worked in the fields now known as nanotechnology since 1968 and most recently served as Director of the Federal National Nanotechnology Coordination Office (NNCO), and as Chair of the American National Standards Institute Technical Advisory Group to the ISO Technical Committee on Nanotechnologies (ISO TC 229).

Exner, Shifman and Teague will join these Directors who will continue to serve on the TAPPI Board: Robert J. Gallo, (Voith Paper North America), Jeff Hamilton (Sappi Fine Paper N.A.), Markku A. Karlsson (UPM-Kymmene Corporation), Sandra L. LeBarron (Finch Paper LLC), Chris O. Luettgen (Kimberly-Clark Professional Research and Engineering), Larry N. Montague (TAPPI), and Robert A. Snyder, (Orchids Paper Products Co.)

Former TAPPI Chair, Jeffrey J. Siegel (Mica Corp.) served as chairman of the 2012 Nominating Committee. Other committee members included Carlos A. Aguiar (Fibria – Retired), Alan F. Button (Buttonwood Consulting), John R. Martin (Packaging Corp. of America), Larry N. Montague (TAPPI), Richard B. Phillips (NC State), Lewis D. Shackford (GL&V), Peter D. Wallace (Arclin) and Mark T. Watkins (MWV)

Special thanks go to the following TAPPI Board of Director members: Davide R. Friedman (Fibre Tech Packaging Solutions), Thomas E. Rodencal (Nalco Company), and Gary M. Scott (SUNY-ESF) as they complete their terms in March 2012.

(800) 332-8686;